Getting started

I won’t deny it. There are days where I am completely thrilled about these new adventures and there are days where I am completely freaked out. You read wonderful articles about all these amazing home school families, dreams of even completely unschooling, and traveling in a van across the world pop in my head. I think everything is doable if you only focus… And, then there are those days, where I am thinking ” WHAT THE HECK ARE WE DOING ?” The nay sayers pop back in my head, the few articles of pointing out the bad homeschoolers, the few (and I really have only met very few) teachers that are against it. I am lucky, we are lucky, to pretty much have our whole family as a support group. Even though none live close, it feels good to know they are cheering for us. My mum helps wherever, with whatever she can. Advise or materials, she is there, and I thank her for that. Without her, without my amazing parents I wouldn’t have this dream. A dream of a better life for my family, for my children. And that’s when I am okay with it again. I know we won’t get things perfect right at the beginning, I know it won’t be easy, I know there will be people to make our path harder, but I remember every day why we chose to do this. I will remember all the good things I have read, the statistics as well as all the amazing people I have come across, and I will remember how important it is t be here for my kids and go through this learning adventure of life with them.

Even though my last post, was about not rushing back into school, we are all of course excited and I can’t drag the start out much longer. Plus, a good home school friend pointed out to rather start early during the hot months in texas and have more time off when it is actually nicer and colder for us 🙂

So a big help for me is organization. I feel like since we have preparing for homeschooling, I have gotten more and more back into the habit of it. Meal planning, grocery lists, yard work schedules and of course we will need some kind of schedule to get our school done every day. I thought about it for a long time, how much we should really schedule and how much we should let the kids decide. Since my kids have a hard time to get going in the morning and get side tracked every easily I figured we still need a somewhat strict routine, at least for now. Hopefully though the years we can be less strict on things.

We live in Texas and our homeschool laws are pretty relaxed, dream like compared to some other states and countries.

Texas State Law Requirements Regarding Home Schooling

To home school legally in Texas, you must follow three state law requirements:

  • The instruction must be bona fide (i.e., not a sham).
  • The curriculum must be in visual form (e.g., books, workbooks, video monitor).
  • The curriculum must include the five basic subjects of reading, spelling, grammar, mathematics, and good citizenship.

Pretty easy to get along with. Next to our Horizon packages of English and Math we agreed on History, German, Geography and Science. Music , Arts, and World Culture. Some of these we have a textbook and workbooks for, other we will just choose along depending what everyone is most interested in. After rewriting this schedule, about a dozen times I ended up with this rough estimate. We can tweak if we need to, but I think it’s a good start for us …The hard part for all of us in the mornings is to get started. Hopefully the 30 mins I plan in, will help with that. I plan on using songs, music, fun little games and interaction to get them awake and in a happy mood. Don’t forget 4-year-old and 7-year-old can still hold a pretty good tantrum and be pretty grumpy (mommy’s too especially if they don’t get coffee )

I found the time table through pinterest. I remembered how many fun timetables we used to have in Germany for school. Something I was always excited about when the new year began. Copy the new timetable. Everyone gets these, they are free when you buy your school supplies 😉 If you like it you can download it through pinterest.

http://pinterest.com/pin/257338566180866216/Stundenplan.psd

http://pinterest.com/pin/257338566180866216/

Leave a Reply

