Catch and release

We have about a week until the day I plan to have our official first day of school. I’m still nervous, still think I am over thinking things, and might just put too much thought into worksheets, curriculum and everything around it. After all life has so many lessons all on its own.

The girls have been very interested in grasshoppers lately and we found some great books from the library to go along with it. After a very fun night out at the park last week , where we met so many other local homeschoolers and also saw so many grasshoppers, we figured we needed to go back out there and try to catch our own grasshoppers, a perfect break from all my “getting ready” . So Daddy helped along to make some jars and the girls were very excited about making a little home for their friends. We packed some juice, water and snacks and after dinner went out. Of course, when you are looking for them, as it is with everything else in life, they are hard to come by. The girls expected things to be easier and were getting discouraged fast, something I still need to work on, especially with my older munchkin, but I am so glad I now have all the time we need. After looking around in the tall grass ( I am normally NOT a bug person, especially here in TX with all the creatures) we found one sitting on the ground. I quickly grabbed the little ones jar and we had one !!
My little girl was thrilled that we had gotten one, my older one not so much. She wanted to do it on her own and only with a bit of talking she at least took the opportunity and studied the only one we had. I understood her disappointment and the feeling of wanting to get it done on her own. I promised her we would keep trying. We tried and tried but that one was our one lucky shot. After all we had fun with the little guy and after a few minutes let him escape back into his freedom !! But we will be back and someone will have her own chance again to catch her very own grasshopper 🙂

GOSSPHOTOGRAPHY

GOSSPHOTOGRAPHY

GOSSPHOTOGRAPHY

GOSSPHOTOGRAPHY

GOSSPHOTOGRAPHY

GOSSPHOTOGRAPHY

 

GOSSPHOTOGRAPHY

Leave a Reply

