Hello again

Fall has arrived in our little part of the world. It is getting colder and getting darker faster. Our homeschooling adventures have really taken off and most times I couldn’t be more thrilled about how things have developed. To think that we officially are only doing this for about 4 months now, I think we are doing pretty awesome. I still struggle with finding the right rhythm to our days sometimes, and my husbands schedule changing a few times, sometimes our schedules don’t add up, but we have also learnt to be more flexible.

We have had some awesome fieldtrips and big and little adventures. we have been going to the park almost every other day and the girls are the queens of the playground. The have chases bugs and discovered bugs they never saw before, like an amazing leafbug just a few days ago. How I wish I would have had my camera handy, but I have also learnt to live in the moment and to just memorize the moment as it was, even without the picture. Then again, I want to make it a point and pull the camera out even during our “boring” homeschool days and document the little conversations, giggles and maybe even struggles.

We have come along way. Days of, I don’t know what to do are slowly disappearing, and even in moments like right now, all of us are home and we all have found something to do, by ourselves, independently.

One of our struggling subjects has been math for my oldest, but even there we are learning what her strengths are and mainly it is just a little focus problem, nothing dramatically.

History has been simply incredible. Story of the world has been so much fun, and it has been amazing to teach them all this history. We have combined books from the library and also some videos we found on Netflix or amazon prime.  Sometimes questions have come up, which seriously surprised and amazed me and also assured me that we are totally on the right path.

Our little one has started reading. She is reading the beginners reading books at 4 years old. She has been working with READING EGGS and loves it. To see her so excited about learning has been wonderful and something I was really hoping for, since she wasn’t as excited about this a few months ago.

We have visited some wonderful museums, the police station for an open door day, visited the local markets, zoo, painting class with friends and at an art studio, we made cakes, baked bread. We combined old and new traditions from the US and my country Germany. Made crafts and learnt songs. We discovered all about France and just started studying Great Britain

Homeschooling has really taken us on a journey. And not just about learning about the world but it has taught us so much about ourselves, myself and my kids. Not ever moment has been easy but ever one of them has been worth it.

Leave a Reply

