Learning to adapt….

Some days I still question every single thing that we do. So many things have changed in the last few weeks and there really isn’t as much structure as I would like it to be. I was always a  very firm believer of complete structure in life. Planners, organizers, schedules, cooking lists… if there was a list to be made, I would make it. And I still do, to a point. If I have a schedule, or a  plan than already in my head ,I have a backup plan. If that one fails, somewhere is something else to fall back on.

Is that the case in real life ? it is good to have a plan B, but sometimes you have to live in the moment and there are simply things you can’t prepare for. I am learning that, giving more freedom and trying to let creativity take over, is a better way to solve things.

I was all for the laid out curriculum. I couldn’t find a complete curriculum for every subject that I wanted to include in our year, but I thought I could make it that way. Reading so many things about homeschooling in the last year, things seemed overwhelming at some point. What did I really like, which curriculum and method was for me ? I love how unschoolers live, I love how sure they are about themselves, how sure and proud they are of their kids and how much confidence they have in all of it. Then I look at the more structured homeschoolers and I find it all so very amazing how they get things done, how they memorize everything from the presidents to the bible at the age of 4. Laundry is scheduled, meal plans are planned or the food is fully cooked ahead. And while every group has really something amazing about them I know they probably didn’t start that way. They learnt to adapt. Something we just talked about in science. Plants adapt, animals adapt and humans adapt too. That’s pretty much the reason why we homeschool. Adapting can take some time, and the end result doesn’t just show up overnight. Most of us have to adapt their whole life. I have been adapting for sure since I came to this country, nearly 10 years ago.

We have had so many amazing fascinating moments. And yes we had some moments not so fascinating. But HONESTLY, the amazing moments are surely in the lead. Everyone in my family seems to be happy, I am the main worrier most days. My husbands fully trusts me with all the crazy decisions I make, which kind of scares me some days, lol. He is interested in everything we do, and will help in any way, but still that he really never shows doubts in me amazes me. My mum supports me with amazing material from Germany and we are starting to have a little community of homeschoolers all around us. Some days we are out all day, some days we sink deep into our work and enjoy just being by ourselves. And that is just fine.

Leave a Reply

