Addicted to curriculum { Review Story of the world }

I will be honest with you, I love shopping for curriculum and if money was no object, I would probably have two more rooms filled with books. It is just so fun reading about it and seeing the possibilities, then again choosing and making sure it is the right one for your family, isn’t always as much fun ! I kept our first year rather simple and basic. Since we are more secular homeschoolers, my options didn’t seem as big. But fast forward a year and my options have expanded quite a bit.
But I really wanted to talk about one thing we loved for our first year and that we will continue in the next one. And that is Story of the world !

Both my kids have a big interest in history, we love going to museums, watch movies about it, make crafts with it and just hear about old times ! For me, growing up in Germany, history was always a big thing. It was EVERYWHERE. Now living in the states, it is more about modern history, which can be very adventurous as well !

We decided for Vol.1, the workbook that comes with it, and also the CD package. The girls really love the story cd’s, I grew up with listening to stories all the time, and so my girls love listening to all kinds of stories as well. While we color, play, or eat.. we often find ourselves listening to stories. Sometimes for the lessons, I just turn on the CD and we snuggle up in our reading corner and listen to Jim Weiss tell the story. We created a wall in our “adventure room” with a timeline and every time we create crafts or color something from the workbook, we add it to our wall ! It has turned out beautifully !
I don’t think another book, or curriculum could have kept their interest for this long. At first, I wasn’t sure how well all that information would stick, but they surprise me every other day when they make references to certain history events or leaders.

Most of the crafts are easy and very fun. My youngest isn’t always big on coloring, but since these aren’t your normal coloring themes, she was often more interested in it than boring pre-school coloring books. My oldest spent lots of time making them perfect ! Sometimes I wanted to skip ahead ( we didn’t make it through the book in 1 year ) but I am so glad I took the time and created many of the crafts etc, with them . We made Chitons ( greek ) one day and spent the whole day as Greeks, made Phoenician necklaces, made pyramids out of lego, built Shadufs and so many more things I probably would have never thought of myself.

A lot of people tell me, you can find many resources online for free. And that is true, luckily a lot more resources are popping up online every day, and I love to take advantage of them when I have the time. Time is still a big issue and with my year of free floating and making my own curriculum box, planning took a lot of time away from me. One part of me loves planning out lessons, another part of me, just wants to take a break or spend it with my husband. With Story of the world, the planning is really easy. The workbook guides you beautifully through the lessons. It has review questions for your kid, ready to be asked and answered.

I think vol.1 did a beautiful job on covering the subject of the ancient times. There were a few chapters where I wondered why more content wasn’t added and I tried to find a few extra’s. I supplemented with the library a little bit and also a few workbooks by the evan moor company ! We are more or less secular homeschoolers and we were definitely okay with the religious terms or subjects in the book ! Some more religious people told me, that this simply didn’t cover enough for them. I think that is something you will just have to find out on your own ! It does cover a lot of basic knowledge though !

History Pockets: Ancient Civilizations, Grades 1-3

The book by itself is a great Resource. My kids are good readers and can read it by themselves already. Often we read along with the cd, or take it back out to check our facts.
The Story of the World: History for the Classical Child: Volume 1: Ancient Times: From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor, Revised Edition

The CD makes lessons so much easier. Also on days, when mommy isn’t feeling well, it is a great option and we always feel like we still learnt a lot ! You can find a preview of the stories on youtube.
Story of the World, Volume 1: Ancient Times Audiobook CD: From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor, Revised Edition (7 CDs) (v. 1)

Last the workbook. I can highly recommend this one, because it just makes History come alive. So many ideas became so much clearer after seeing our crafts or making/ using them. All the crafts are easily done by the kids themselves or most often only require a little help by an adult. It is always up to you which ones you choose. You can extend the lessons or just skip through some of the activities.

The Story of the World, Activity Book 1: Ancient Times – From the Earliest Nomad to the Last Roman Emperor

Thanks for reading my review, I hope it helps you choose if story of the world will be a great fit for you ! If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment and I will do my best to answer.
On the first picture you see the girls making Phoenician like necklaces with the help of blackberry juice 🙂
IMG_5003
One this one we made our own roman signum !
IMG_20141018_170035_hdr

Leave a Reply

