My top ten homeschool websites

I have had several emails this week, asking for general information about homeschooling. I can’t even explain you how happy that makes me. It shows me that, what we are doing, is inspiring people, that people are sick of the day to day and being told how to raise their children, and that people want to have a bigger part in their children’s lives and ,most of all education.

After writing these emails, I noticed there are several websites I keep referring to.
So I figured I would share them with you here.

1.) PracticalHomeschooling

I love this facebook website. At the beginning, before we even started, I joined the fanpage. And just by reading everyone’s questions, I got such a great insight of what homeschooling CAN look like, and how many different faces it can actually have. Little glimpses of different curriculums were mentioned, a great read-a-long page.

2.)  project based homeschooling

Project based homeschooling, is a learning approach to let kids explore and work independently. It is certainly a type of homeschooling, a philosophy maybe, that can work with many other different types of homeschooling. After our first year, I quickly learnt that I want to be more open, have a more gentle approach in our homeschool journey and also that I want to trust my kids more with making their own decissions. Great website, fanpage to follow, with so many ideas !

3.) Pinterest

Yes Pinterest, just all by itself. The amount of information you can find there is amazing. Most homeschoolers make several boards, for all kinds of subjects and grades. There is so much teacher and homeschool related stuff, you can spend hours there. And best of all, you can find many things for FREE !

4.) http://www.hslda.org/

Laws, Laws, Laws.. Of course, when it comes to homeschooling there are some things we have to watch out for. Depending on your state and country, you live in, the laws can be very laid back or there might be several things you need to know about to be a safe homeschooler in your state. Overall nothing to worry about, but this page gives you quick information about how to homeschool in your state.

5.) homeschoolbuyersco-op

The homeschool buyers co-op is a great resource website for curriculum. First thing I did, after signing up was to print my homeschool ID which gave me access to a lot of great savings at local stores. Most states and with that the stores, see homeschooling equal with private schools, so you are eligible for most teacher discounts.

6.) rainbowresource

Since we are talking curriculum. Oh how overwhelming it can be. There are so many things to look at, look out for and decide at the beginning. Biggest question when beginning to look at curriculum. Religious or secular. I still look at all curriculum a lot of times, even though we are more secular homeschoolers. There can still be great resources in the religious materials and you may just be able to make it work for you and your family ! Ps make sure you order a catalogue.

7. ) cathyduffyreviews

To get some good insights and read reviews, this page is one you will be referred to, over and over again. Nearly every curriculum has been referred here and you will find great overviews of each curriculum you are looking for.

8. ) timberdoodle

Such a fun website. This is one, I found early in my homeschool journey and ended up picking a lot of curriculum from. They have core curriculum boxes, which I just ended up picking my favorite’s from. Great customer service though the company as well !

9.) confessionsofahomeschooler

To throw in another blog, this is one I would recommend in a heartbeat. One I started following early and it has a great mix of articles with lots of great ideas for homeschooling in general. Such a fun and cute family to read about !

10.) http://www.movingbeyondthepage.com/

One of the question I get asked most, what curriculum do you guys use… MBTP is what we are mainly currently using. For our first year I picked and chose most everything on my own from all the websites. A little from this company, a little from here etc.. Then I found moving beyond the page and just fell in love with the idea of a literature based curriculum. It has its pros and cons, which I will explain in another post one day. But for now we are very happy with it !

Ooooh how many more websites I could list. Every time people ask me for homeschool resources, websites etc it is so hard to point them in the right direction because by now, there are simply so, so many. Which is of course a good thing but it can be overwhelming fast. If you are lucky you will find your little place of homeschool happiness fast, and just follow a few people but more than likely you will be addicted to reading more and more, which of course is a good thing too 🙂
Learning is never done, and there are so many amazing homeschool families out there that share their wisdom with us newbies ! Don’t be scared to ask questions, most of us are just excited to share some info with you !

Thanks for stopping by,
hope you found the websites helpful

Mama bookworm

Leave a Reply

