More books for me, The Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier

During the last two years I spent a lot of time reading with my children. And even when I had time to myself I spent my time reading about ( my) children. I read so many homeschool and educational parenting books, that it started to all sound the same. I needed a break. Especially now with the upcoming move again, I needed something laid back, something entertaining, an easy read to forget some of the drama around me.

While I was in Germany last year, my sister was reading a fun trilogy. I honestly wasn’t fully listening to everything then, as I had a huge stack of books still at home. But fast forward another year and here I am reading them now. My mother had surprised me and ordered them for me as a little gift for the upcoming move and I was thrilled to start right away. My oldest is always very proud to finish big books and she asked me when the last time was that I read so many all at once. And it had been a while since I read the Hunger games, Twilight or even Harry Potter. Also I remembered one fact of my own truths of happiness, just because I am an adult I can still read young adult books or even children’s books.

So back to this series. It is a trilogy for young adult readers but since I wanted something easy and entertaining it seemed just right. It is a very fun story about families, history, time travel, secrets and love. Even though you might find yourself trying to guess the plot of the story in the middle of book too, there are still many fun surprising parts in the story later on. Since the author is a german author, I assume the book is not that well-known here yet but I truly think it should be  since it has even been turned into a movie in Germany.

Here is another little description:
The Ruby Red international bestselling trilogy by Kerstin Gier took the world by storm is now available as a beautiful boxed set. The perfect gift for all the Ruby Red fans.
Sixteen-year-old Gwen lives with her extended–and eccentric–family in an exclusive London neighborhood. She’s had a relatively normal life so far, in spite of her ancestors’ peculiar history. The time-traveling gene that runs like a secret thread through the female half of the family is supposed to have skipped Gwen. She hasn’t been introduced to “the mysteries,” and can spend her time hanging out with her best friend Lesley, watching movies and talking about boys. So it comes as an unwelcome surprise when she starts taking sudden leaps into the past.
She’s totally unprepared for time travel, not to mention all that comes with it: fancy clothes, archaic manners, a mysterious secret society, and Gideon, her time-traveling counterpart. He’s obnoxious, a know-it-all, and possibly the best-looking guy she’s seen in any century . . .

I loved the book so much, that I jumped right into the next trilogy by Kerstin Gier, which I will tell you about another time.

The Ruby Red Trilogy Boxed Set

Leave a Reply

